Being brave.

I was brave this morning. After my period reached an all time low, I gathered up my courage and emailed my consultant, finally. I’d been putting it off for months, feeling too scared, and not wanting to be thought of as a “nuisance patient”. I don’t even know why that mattered.

I reminded him of my history so far, and then told him that my periods were even lighter. I asked if he was still confident that we would conceive, then asked if I could try a month of oestrogen to try to thicken the endometrium. I asked if this would need to be done in conjunction with IVF and if so would I need to wait and go through a fertility clinic. I asked if there was anything else that could be done. I asked if the remaining scar tissue at my cervix could be preventing the rest of my endometrium from thickening, and if so could something be done about it.

I’m a bit concerned as to what his response might be, part of me wants to bury my head in the sand, and stick my fingers in my ears and pretend that none of this is happening to me. The other part of me wants a child, and realises I need to do everything I can to try and accomplish that for me and for my husband, which involves being pushy, unfortunately.

Aside from that, we have been taking rubbish to the dump, and starting to clear out our house ready for our move in 2 weeks’ time. Exciting stuff, huh?

3 responses to “Being brave.

  1. Well done for being brave. I spent a lot of time at the start of this process not wanting to be a nuisance and then I remembered that I couldn’t give a toss if the Doctors like me or not, this is about my future not a popularity contest! Here is hoping for a swift reply.

  2. Hi there fellow blogger!

    My name is ‘Buggy’ from “A Bug Odyssey: A journey through infertility”. I was recently awarded a ‘Stylish Blogger’ award, and have spent the last four hours surfing the web for 10 other bloggers whom I feel I should nominate, and you’re one of them!

    1. Follow this link to my blog to grab your award: http://ivfbug.blogspot.com/2011/05/im-on-roll.html

    2. Follow the directions on the blog post for paying it forward and telling us a little more about you.

    Tonnes of love,
    xo
    Buggy

  3. After 3 procedures to remove scar tissue,I feel like my periods are lighter then ever……..good luck with your lining

Leave a Reply

