Why has my cake flopped?

Why am I surprised?

I have spent most of today cooking and shopping, preparing a picnic for tomorrow, when we’re escaping into the middle of nowhere. Since my strawberry, mint and cream sponge cake was so nice, I thought I’d make another one.

I followed the exact same recipe, but when I took it out of the oven (having not opened the oven to peep, or any of the other things you’re not supposed to do) it’s sunk in the middle. A lot. It looks like a doughnut, it’s so sunken. Why? I don’t understand! I used a Delia recipe for goodness sake; they’re not supposed to fail!

And now I have to try and hide it somehow… The only idea I can think of is turning it into some sort of fruit bowl… with cream on it. Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

